Media

Understanding Media Literacy: Inside Plato's Cave, An online course for teachers and parents from Athabasca University

 

Welcome


A breakthrough course fills a gap in media education
Finally, an online credit course for teachers, teachers in training, and students interested in communications studies and media education.  Media literacy is a mandated part of the curriculum across Canada, yet there is very little training available at any level. In the past teachers looking for professional development found little or no support. Many avoided teaching media studies because of their lack of education. This new online course will meet that need.

Understanding Media Literacy: Inside Plato’s Cave is an online, 13 unit,  three credit course written, tested and endorsed by teachers and delivered in partnership with Athabasca University.

Available as a summer workshop, or for individual study, the course is especially designed to aid grades 7 – 12 teachers in helping their students to develop an informed and critical understanding of the nature, impact and techniques of the mass media. The units are highly interactive and will assist teachers in developing skills to adapt these lessons to their students’ needs and their teaching situations.

For more information about the course content and registration, please explore this site, and visit the home page for the course at Athabasca University

 

Contacts


 

Athabasca University

 

Website

Understanding Media Literacy: Inside Plato's Cave

http://salsa.athabascau.ca/cmns/mediaLiteracy.php

 

Communication Studies Program

Dr. Evelyn Ellerman, Director

780 485-5831

1-866 242-8769 (toll free)

evelyne@athabascau.ca

 

Media Relations

John O’Brien, Manager
403-298-2931 (office)

403-990-1131 (cell)
jobrien@athabascau.ca

 

 

Project Team

 

Lead Writers

John J. Pungente, SJ

Jesuit Communication Project

416-920-3286 

pungente@sympatico.ca

 

Carolyn Wilson

Association for Media Literacy / OISE

416-460-1571 

carolyn_wilson@hpcdsb.edu.on.ca

 

Producers

Gary Marcuse, Betsy Carson

Face to Face Media

604 251 0770

marcuse@smartt.com, carson@smartt.com

www.facetofacemedia.ca